Journal: July 23 2014 (Wednesday)

Today was a heavy day. I was going through some stuff, and now I’m leaning on God, and realizing that He’s enough.

For a long time, I’ve struggled with feelings and periods of isolation and loneliness. So it was today, and in a big way. I was feeling down on myself – feeling sorry for myself. It’s easy to feel sorry for yourself, you know, and it’s quite easy for it to get addictive. Just drowning in self-pity.

But today, I decided (and I feel that this was by God’s grace) that I wouldn’t let this overtake me. I decided I’d glorify God as best I could in my pain. I’d recognize that God is enough. And He is. Even if everyone in the world spurned me, even if everyone in the world even hated me, I’d have God. And that’s enough.

I think that’s important for everyone to realize. God is enough. It may not feel that way in the pits of despair, or when we feel far from Him. But let me tell you this: if you seek out God, you’ll find Him. Scripture tells us that He’s near to all who call upon Him in truth (Psalm 145:18). If you run out to Him, if you call on Him, He’ll answer. If you draw near to Him, He’ll draw near to you (James 4:8).

We need to extend this to every aspect of our lives. If you lose friends for being faithful, God is enough. If, through some set of circumstances,you lose your job for being faithful, God is enough. If you face death and torture for being faithful, God is enough. God. Is. Enough.

Tonight I’m thanking God for being enough, and for loving me enough to just be here – both now, and for the rest of my life, and for all of eternity. There’s no words to describe what a blessing that is.

 

 

Leave a Reply

