July 23 2014 (Wednesday) – Malachi 3

Hi!

Just a word: my posts on Scripture may not be exhaustive – it may not cover everything in the Scripture blogged on. Mainly it will be on what speaks out to me and what means something to me especially. With that said, here we go. Malachi 3 was quite a significant read.

What definitely stood out to me, with regard to my own walk with God, was how it said in v.2-4 that the Messiah (Jesus) is a purifier and a refiner, that He’ll purify and refine His people. Isn’t that the truth? We are so spiritually immature when we first start out in Christ, but He refines us and purifies us. He makes us grow, even if and when it hurts. Praise God for that.

Another thing that stood out to me was how God said He doesn’t change, but it’s the effect of how He doesn’t change. Contrary to what lots of liberal Christians (term used loosely) think, if God were to change His mind, it wouldn’t be to let us do things He forbid in the time of the Scriptures, it would be to wipe us from the face of the earth. He outright say this in v.6 “For I the LORD do not change; therefore you, O children of Jacob, are not consumed.” Praise God that He doesn’t change, that His mercy and lovingkindess and steadfast love and patience is eternal!

Two more things before I comment on how I’ll apply this reading to my life. In v.13-15, God says that the people falsely believe (to God’s distress) that those who do evil escape God and prosper. Brothers and sisters, let us never lose faith in God or any aspect of His being – His mercy, His love, His justice, or anything else. God will judge the world, but He is only being merciful in delaying it so.

Finally, v.16-18 stood out to me because it describes how the world is split into two camps: those belonging to God and those not. And my brethren, we mustn’t feel pride or disdain toward those who are not in our camp. We must reach out to them, in love and courage, so they can know the joy and hope we know.

Now, how will I integrate these teachings into my life? Personally, I think God caused me to read v.13-15 because I’ve been recently overwhelmed with feelings of bitterness and fear toward those who are extremely hostile toward God and His people (there’s a post upcoming on this topic). I don’t want to see them hurt or anything, of course, but still. I do think it stems from a feeling of powerlessness in the face of their taunting of God. But while i am powerless, God is not. God does not need me to go beyond righteous indignation to defend Him. So I’m going to trust in God, that He knows what He’s doing, and that He’s doing just fine without me looking down on those who don’t belong to Him. I’m to love them and care for them, not be bitter toward them – even if they (either figuratively or literally) spit in my face.

Secondly, I’ll pray for God to refine me and purify me even further. I want to be a man like Paul, like John, like Spurgeon. I want to be a mighty man of God, one my children and grandchildren and great-grandchildren will look back on with pride. By God’s grace, I’ll see that happen.

So that’s it for today’s journal entry. Grace and Peace.

Leave a Reply

