The Perils of Forgetfulness Pt. II – How to Not Forget God

Continuing on from last week’s post on forgetting God, we come to this topic: how do we not forget God?

The answer is this: Stay close to God! Abide in Him! Jesus said in John 154-6 (and read all of it because it is so on point and so important for this topic): ” Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. If anyone does not abide in me he is thrown away like a branch and withers; and the branches are gathered, thrown into the fire, and burned.”

We therefore have Jesus’ words – abide in Him. Now how do we abide in Him? In my experience, Scripture and prayer. These are the basic building blocks of the believer’s walk. Whether you literally became a believer five minutes ago and you are absolutely new to everything in the Christian life, or if you’re a world-renowned theologian who’s been leading God’s people for fifty years, Scripture reading/study and prayer are the basic elementary aspects of every Christian’s life. Now let me clarify: when I say Scripture reading, I mean incorporating what you read from it into your life as much as is possible. James stresses this when he says in James 1:22-25 (again, read all of this Bible selection, it’s important): ” But be doers of the word, and not hearers only, deceiving yourselves. For if anyone is a hearer of the word and not a doer, he is like a man who looks intently at his natural face in a mirror. For he looks at himself and goes away and at once forgets what he was like. But the one who looks into the perfect law, the law of liberty, and perseveres, being no hearer who forgets but a doer who acts, he will be blessed in his doing.” Now obviously this does mean following God’s law and commands, but I don’t see any reason it wouldn’t mean trying to the best of our ability to live out what we read in Scripture.

Understand, we are dependent on God utterly for our spiritual life. I’ve tried to go it alone, only going to God when I thought I needed Him, not realizing I need Him all the time. I failed. God would hold me up, and I’d wrestle my hand free so I could walk on my own, and immediately fall flat on my face.

Closing

Let me close with this. In your spiritual life, pray – every day – that God will keep you close to Him. In addition to everything else you pray about. Read your Scripture every day, pray every day, and every day ask God to keep you close to Him.

Blessings to you all.

Leave a Reply

