Journal: August 2, 2014 (Saturday)

So I think what I’ve been learning about recently, is how sometimes we stray and run from God, and how God works in very subtle ways.

Past few days, I haven’t really been reading my Bible. Or praying substantially. And I think this is a pattern with me. I read my Bible, pray, get filled with the Holy Spirit, and that makes me think (since I feel awesome!) that I can go it alone. How stupid is that, though? We rely on God. He’s the vine and we’re the branch. Jesus said that the word of God was our bread, our spiritual food. He also promised living water (John 7:37-39). The message here is clear. Jesus is our spiritual sustenance. I mean, when we have a big meal, that doesn’t make us think we can go without food or water for the next week or so, does it? So why should it be any different with Jesus?

We rely on Jesus, and that’s something I’m going to be praying on and meditating on.

But I think it’s also necessary for me to touch on something else. Sometimes we run from God. Sometimes we do it because we’re tricked by Satan into being scared of God because of our sin, when really God’s conviction will always lead us to Him, because He’s after our repentance, not our damnation. And sometimes we run because the cost of repentance seems too high. Brothers and sisters, in God we’re secure. Life may be hard and terrifying living a godly life in some aspects, but it’s always worth it.

Now, one last thing for this journal entry. Last night I saw Guardians of the Galaxy, a recent Marvel Comics film, with a friend. It got out pretty late (11:35pm), so I wasn’t sure how I was gonna transit home – I mean, the busses stop running within half an hour to an hour after the movie gets out. So I prayed to God before I left that He’d see me home fine. And He did. My friend got me to a bus, where I took it to a certain point, then transferred to the bus home. Got home at around 12:20am, 40 minues before the main bus I take stops running for the night.

Main point: God saw me home. He worked in a very subtle, very invisible way, but He got me home nonetheless. Look at the book of Esther – God isn’t even mentioned in it, but He’s definitely there. His presence is implied where Mordecai tells Esther “And who knows but that you have come to your royal position for such a time as this?” (Esther 4:14). I love Esther for that reason – a pivotal point in the history of the Jewish people, where they’re rescued from a potential genocide, by a person who was in just the right place at just the right time, all due to God working in silence. Isn’t that amazing? How God can work in miraculous, jaw-dropping, heart-stopping ways, like leading the Israelites with a pillar of fire by night, or by parting the Red Sea, but He also works in very subtle ways where you don’t even know it’s Him working unless you really think about it. It’s a really beautiful thing to dwell and meditate on, and makes me realize more and more that God is absolutely in control – whether good or bad enters your life, He is in control.

That’s it for now. Stay blessed, and please, keep reading your Bibles and praying! Stay close to God, good siblings.

Leave a Reply

